top of page

In 1900, the National League contracted to 8 teams, and in 1901 the American League joined as the "Junior Circuit" with 8 teams as well. Despite the short-lived Federal League in 1914-1915, the league remained at 16 teams until 1961.


The end of the 1910s saw the end of the dead-ball era, as Babe Ruth ushered in an offensive boom with a record 29 home runs for the Red Sox in 1919, his final year in Boston.


Before Ruth claimed the crown of game's biggest star, however, the decade belonged to Tigers center fielder Ty Cobb. He won the batting title in all but one season for the decade and never hit lower than .368, including a .420 mark in 1911.


*** NOTE: This set does NOT include the Federal League teams, which you can order separately.***

FULL SEASON SETS - 1911 to 1920

    bottom of page