top of page

In 1900, the National League contracted to 8 teams, and in 1901 the American League joined as the "Junior Circuit" with 8 teams as well. The league remained at 16 teams until 1961.


While Babe Ruth was still putting up impressive numbers at the beginning of the decade and Lou Gehrig was terrific again as well, this decade belonged to Jimmie Foxx. The slugger won three MVP awards and took home the Triple Crown in 1933, as he turned in some of the most dominant, all-around offensive seasons in baseball history.


Had he played 10 full seasons during the decade, as opposed to the six he did, Hank Greenberg likely would have given Foxx a run for his money at the top, while the same can be said for Dizzy Dean on the pitching side of things as he put up the bulk of his impressive numbers in a six-year span as well.


Lefty Grove wins top pitching honors here and ranks as one of the greatest southpaws to ever play the game. Carl Hubbell, famed for striking out five straight future Hall of Famers in the 1934 All-Star Game, was not too shabby during the regular season as well.


Phillies outfielder Chuck Klein, who won NL MVP in 1932 and the Triple Crown the following season, Joe Cronin, Paul Waner, Red Ruffing, Mel Harder and Wes Ferrell were all favorites as well.


FULL SEASON SETS - 1931 to 1940

    bottom of page